Weapons OffensesAggressive Criminal Defense. Fearless at Trial. Contact Us
The Second Amendment of the Constitution protects the rights of all Americans to bear arms. However, the government may restrict firearms under certain circumstances or add penalties to other offenses when a firearm was involved. While these laws are designed to prevent the misuse of weapons, occasionally a law abiding citizen may face criminal charges for simply trying to protect their family or for exercising their right to bear arms.
At Floyd Law Offices PLLC, we are dedicated to defending the rights and liberties of our clients charged with weapons-related offenses. Our Raleigh weapons offense attorneys possess in-depth understanding of the law and procedural rules surrounding gun crimes. We have successfully defended many types of weapons offenses, from possession of a firearm by a convicted felon to carrying a concealed weapon under the influence of alcohol.
In North Carolina, most individuals over the age of 21 are allowed by law to possess both open and concealed firearms with a valid permit. However, even a licensed gun owner can find him or herself under arrest for committing a weapons offense.
Our firm provides dedicated representation for clients facing state or federal weapons offense charges in North Carolina such as:
- Felons or other prohibited persons in possession of a firearm
- Concealed weapon violations
- Purchase of a handgun without a permit
- Possession of prohibited firearms, such as machine guns or short-barreled rifles
- Straw purchases of firearms
- Illicit gun trafficking
- Possession of a firearm in relation to a drug trafficking crime or crime of violence
- Possession of a firearm in a school zone, airport or other prohibited area
Penalties for Weapons Offenses
Depending on the specifics of the charge, a conviction for a weapons offense could result in a jail or prison sentence, probation, fines, and a criminal record. For example, carrying a concealed weapon without a proper permit is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail. A second offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
Carrying a concealed weapon without a proper permit is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail. If this is your second offense and the weapon in question is a firearm, the charge is elevated to a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
Because weapons charges are so serious, it is important to speak with an experienced defense attorney as soon as you have been charged. Issues such as possession can be challenged, as can many other factors in your case.
To schedule your free initial consultation, call our Raleigh weapon offense attorney at (919) 805-3663.
- Dismissed State of North Carolina v. C.R.
- Not Guilty of all charges. State of North Carolina v. C.D.
- Not Guilty State of North Carolina v. C.B
- Dismissed State of North Carolina v. B.W.
- Not Guilty State of North Carolina v. A.M.
Solid Track Record of Success
Confident in the Courtroom
Free Case Evaluations
Flexible Payment Plans
Experienced Criminal Defense